11 Angeles City students join essay writing contest

ANGELES CITY — Eleven students from various public schools here have joined the essay writing contest held on Thursday at the Rib Eye Steak House Restaurant.

The Department of Education-R3 Division of Angeles City in coordination with General (Ret.) Orlando Macaspac held the ‘Essay Writing Contest’ for Grade 10 students.

The theme for the essay writing contest is “How I Understand the Evil Effects of Drug Abuse and as a Young Citizen How Could I Help in its Prevention.”

Leilani S. Cunanan, OIC, Office of the Schools Division Superintendent, said 11 schoold have participated in the contest. The participants were identified as Danica V. Calma, Bonifacion V. Romero High School; Ariza Doreen M. Tayag, Angeles City National High School; Jessamae D. Vargas, Amsic Integrated School; Sydney F. Yambao, Angeles City National Trade School; Ma. Celina M. Pamintuan, Claro M. Recto Information and Communication Technology High School; Jerico Franz D. Valenzuela, Angeles City Science High School; Nashelle L. Dichosa, Rafael L. Lazatin Memorial High School; Dawn Loreal T. Garcia, Francisco G. Nepomuceno Memorial High School; Maria Carmela D. Dignadice, Sto. Domingo Integrated School; Ruth Daphne P. Bilan, Malabanias Integrated School; and Jonas D. Bacuno, Northville 15.

The panel of judges includes Councilor Nino Rivera of Mabalacat City, Councilor Ruping Dumlao of the City of San Fernando and Councilor Ann Aguas of Tarlac City.

The winners will be awarded on December 10 at the Rib Eye Function Hall with cash prizes: P10,000 for the 1st prize; P7,500 for the 2nd prize and P5,000 for the 3rd prize.

Macaspac said the essay writing contest was held “in line with our fight against drug abuse.” Macaspac also dedicated the ‘Essay Writing Contest’ to the Rotary Club of Angeles led by businessman Alvin Alfonso.

Macaspac has also expressed his gratitude to the class advisers who assisted their students during the event. The teachers were identified as Mrs. Dianne Sula, Mr. Arnol Arceo, Mr. Franzmar Basiloy, Mr. Rendon Coloma, Mr. Benedick Yumul, Mrs Sandy Fatima Miclat, Mrs. Anna Liza Dizon, Mrs. Rizalina Alviz, Mc. Marty Galang, Ms. Alma Pineda and Mrs. Marilou Cunan.