30TH SEA Games handover ceremony readied

The Philippine Southeast Asian Games Organizing Committee (PHISGOC) ceremonies and cultural events department is organizing the handover ceremony that is part of a series of events highlighting the symbolism of the SEA Games torch and flame.

The event, set at Bukit Jalil National Stadium in Kuala Lumpur, will be highlighted by the lighting of the Philippine lantern signaling the countdown to the opening of the Games on Nov. 30 at the Philippine Arena in Bulacan.

Officials from Team Philippines led by chef de mission Chairman Butch Ramirez, PHISGOC chairman Speaker Allan Peter Cayetano and the Philippine Olympic Committee president Rep. Bambol Tolentino will formally receive the hosting role from previous host, represented by the Malaysian Olympic Committee.

Aside from Ramirez, who is also chairman of the Philippine Sports Commission, are his commissioners and assistant CDMs Celia Kiram, Arnold Agustin.  Tolentino will also be accompanied by POC Chair Steven Hontiveros and secretary-general Atty. Ed Gastanes

“The flame handover is an important symbolic ceremony showing the turnover of responsibilities from past host to present,” said Phisgoc ceremonies director Mike Aguilar.

He said torch run activities will also be held in various parts of the country, including Davao, Cebu, Clark and at the Senate, Congress and Malacañang in Manila.

The official torch for the 30th SEA Games portray the national symbols of the Philippines.

The torch, symbolizing unity and celebrating a common message of sportsmanship, athletic superiority and artistic achievements, was designed by the country’s foremost metal sculptor, Daniel dela Cruz.

His torch design for the 30TH SEA Games is inspired by and is a stylized interpretation of our Philippine national flower – the sampaguita, symbolizing purity, simplicity, humility and strength.

Eleven nations namely: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste and Vietnam, will see action on Nov. 30-Dec. 11 in the Games’ 56 sports spread out over four main venues in Clark, Subic, Manila and Tagaytay.

The 30th SEA Games hosting is supported by: Platinum sponsors- Ajinomoto, Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation, MG Cars, Philippine Airlines, Skyworth and CooCaa. Gold Sponsors- MasterCard, Milo, Pocari Sweat, NLEX, PInco and Rzaer. Preffered- Asics, SM Lifestyle Inc. and BMW. Prestige- Molten and Mikasa. Banking Partners- Chinabank and PNB. Media Partners- Bombo Radyo, Star FM and the Inquirer Group, CNN, United Neon and DOOH. Host Broadcaster- NEP. Official Broadcaster- Sports and Action, TV 5, Cignal, ESPN and PTV 4

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com