Las Casas pays homage to local weaves with Flores De Mayo

BAGAC, BATAAN — Close to 50 seasoned Filipino fashion designers over the week showcased their undeniable creativity of Filipino ingenuity and beauty at Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar during the Flores de Mayo held in Las Casas here.

Dubbed with the theme, “Flores de Mayo: A grandiose showcase of Philippine artistry”, it pays tribute to the Blessed Virgin Mary as it is believed that she brings beneficial rain making flowers bloom every dry season.

The grand showcase of the “festival of all festivals” was made possible in partnership with Designers Circle Philippines (DCP).

Being true to its core mission, Las Casas – the heritage hotel and destination – paid homage to the traditional Flores de Mayo while adding its own touch of grandeur to it.

The collection of restored heritage houses became a fitting background for Filipino talent and creativity with its “Sagala sa Las Casas” featuring the traditional weaves that were transformed into stunning modern pieces.

Putting great emphasis on the ingenuity of young designers, the festivities started with the “reinas” parading in their fabulous gowns.

After the grand parade, Las Casas recognized five designer standouts and their muses. La Bella de Las Casas or Most Beautiful Face was awarded to designer Ira Baylon and muse Jam Trias, La Estrella de Las Casas or The Star of Las Casas given to designer Roy Aquino and muse Simone Nadine Bornilla, La Rosa de Las Casas or The Rose of Las Casasgiven to designer Joemel Calma and muse Jennifer Castro,and La Perlita de Las Casas or The Pearl of Las Casas was awarded to designer Rich Sabinian and muse Bianca Denise Garcia. 

Designer Renee Salud

Meanwhile designer Enoc Aliga and muse Claire Fermin were hailed as this year’s grand winner La Reina de Las Casas or The Queen of Las Casas.

Designer Fanny Serrano
Designer Erjohn Dela Serna

Topnotch designers joined forces in making this event more special including icons Fanny Serrano and Renee Salud, Dave Ocampo, Edwin Uy, Johnny Abad, Francis Calaquian, Ivan Dela Cruz, Paul Semira, Sasa Abarentos, Alfie Desamparado, Jehrick Dela Roca, Deejay Abustan, Omar Perez, Adam Balasa, Yep Yep Mesina, Karen Castro, James Cabriole, Brad Agarano, Simoun Andres, Norman Acuba, Alfie Ong, Joebee Henson, Richie Bondoc, Erjohn Dela Serna, Rafael Gonzalez, Jennica Castro, Ranel Espaldon, Don Pedro Moises, Gary Roces, Majalco Calayag, Marjorie Lee Gumabay, Mark Pacion, Lou Vella, Garvy Terrado, Harley Ruedas, Rem Divino, Nino Ramirez, Card Arcita, Rey Lazaro, Richard Roque, Cherry Talaoc, Mars Silud, Vinze Asuncion, and Joel Mendoza.