San Fernando named as one of PHL ‘Digital Cities 2025’

City of San Fernando, Pampanga has been named as one of the Philippines’ “Digital Cities 2025” by the Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) and other private agencies.

The announcement was made via an online media conference of DICT top officials and its partner agencies for the program, the Information Technology and Business Process Association of the Philippines (IBPAP) and Leechiu Property Consultants (LPC) on June 30, 2020.

According to program organizers, “Digital Cities,” which were chosen for their significant potential in terms of talent availability, infrastructure, cost, and business environment, will become the “centers of focus for new economic development in the next three years.”

Along with other 24 cities, San Fernando is set to be an ICT hub in the country where businesses and innovation centers will be built resulting to the creation of more jobs and economic opportunities.

“The initiative, which continues the legacy of Next Wave Cities, aims to drive inclusive growth in the countryside by selecting high-potential areas throughout the country and transforming them into bustling IT and Business Process Management (IT-BPM) hubs within five years,” said the organizers.

Mayor Edwin “EdSa” Santiago said he was delighted by the agency’s announcement, citing that San Fernando has always been one with the nation in its drive towards modernization.

“The City of San Fernando has been carrying the goal of being a ‘model city of countryside development’ for several years now. Ang gusto nating maisakatuparan dito ay ang maibigay natin ang urban services para sa Fernandinos sa isang rural setting kaya naman nakaakma ang inisyatibang ito ng DICT,” said Santiago.

He added that through the administration’s “Infrastructure” agenda that promotes “Moderno at Ligtas na Imprastraktura, Tungo sa Maunlad na Ekonomiya,” several modern services and innovative projects are realized in response to the call of modernization.

Currently, the City Government is implementing online transactions for its clients and employees in the aspects of business application and payment, employment information system, procurement, full disclosure reporting, and human resources information system, among others.

Other cities joining San Fernando on the list are Balanga City, Batangas City, Cabanatuan City, Dagupan City, General Santos City, Iligan City, Iriga City, Laguna Cluster (San Pablo, Calamba, and Los Baños), Laoag City, Legazpi City, Malolos City, Metro Cavite (Bacoor City, Imus, and General Trias), Metro Rizal (Taytay, Cainta, Antipolo City), Olongapo City, Puerto Princesa City, Roxas City, San Fernando La Union, San Jose Del Monte City, Tacloban City, Tagbilaran City, Tarlac City, Tuguegarao City, Urdaneta City, and Zamboanga City.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :