Senate commends contingent to Japan-ASEAN cultural diplomacy cruise

Batch Sakabyas, the Philippine Contingent to the 46th Ship for Southeast Asian and Japanese Youth Program (SSEAYP) recently received honor and commendation from the Senate of the Philippines.

The Senate Resolution No. 141 “Honoring and Commending the 46th SSEAYP Philippine Contingent” introduced by Senator Juan Edgardo “Sonny” Angara, Chairman of the Senate Committee on Youth, was officially adopted through Senate Resolution No. 16, signed by Senate President Vicente “Tito” Sotto III on October 2,2019. This is to acknowledge the participating youths for their passion and excellence on their duties being named as Philippine Youth Ambassadors of Goodwill.

“As part of the ASEAN integration thrust of the government, Batch Sakabyas is committed to foster better understanding among Japan and the ASEAN member states through the various sessions to be conducted particularly on diversity and social inclusion, information and media, good health and well-being, disaster and risk reduction, education, environment, employment and decent work, youth entrepreneurship, soft power and youth people-to-people diplomacy, international relations (J-ASEAN cooperation), and other relevant topics,” the senate resolution reads.

As youth leaders, their main goal is to cascade to their fellow Filipinos the importance of youth involvement in nation-building and to ignite a collective movement towards the improvement of the overall quality of life of Filipinos.

Consisting of 27 young servant-leaders and one national leader, the delegation is expected to advance their personal advocacies, as well as those anchored on the United Nations’ 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) for the benefit of the country through this cultural exchange and diplomacy program.

The Philippine delegation includes National Leader Atty. Jamel T. Mamutuk (R10), Youth Leader Mark Conrad Ravanzo (R9), Assistant Youth Leader Franzes Ivy Carasi (R1), Rogelio B. Bismonte  III (R1),  John Kit Masigan (R2), Vanessa Nicole Fausto (R3), Dion Michael Mendoza (R3), Czarina Mae Dionglay (R4-A), Maria Theresa Llorente (R4-A), Venuel Robel (R4-A), Raja Barber (R4-B), Arman Jay Dudas (R4-B), Paul John Legaspi (R5), Ana Theresa Valles (R5), Gem Rose Cavalida (R6), Anthony H. Colmo (R6), Judy Ann Nulla (R7), Methylene Jezza Berida (R8), Dame Lent Dingding (R10), Vallene Grace Lagunilla (R11), Chester Ian Pineda (R12), Clayton Jay Garcia (CARAGA), Mohammad Abqary Alon (BARMM), Nurhati Tangging (BARMM), Adrian Fernandez (CAR), Raf Sofia Centeno (NCR), Joseph Mariuz Rosales (NCR), and Sedfrey Aldrich P. Obar (NCR).

Started in January 1974 and organized annually through the sponsorship of the Japanese Government, SSEAYP aims to foster friendship and mutual understanding among ASEAN countries and Japan, broaden young leaders’ perspective on the world, strengthen the spirit of international cooperation, and develop practical skills for international collaboration. In the country, SSEAYP is organized by the National Youth Commission (NYC), in partnership with SSEAYP International Philippines (SIP).

The Philippine Contingent is currently undergoing their pre-departure activities and preparations and will start sailing from October 24 to December 13 in Japan, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, and Vietnam.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :