Submission of project proposals for BPI-DOST Innovation Awards extended

The Bank of the Philippine Islands (BPI), through its social development arm, BPI Foundation, is extending the deadline for project proposals for its BPI-DOST Innovation Awards until March 31, 2022. 

In partnership with the Department of Science and Technology – Science Education Institute (SEI), the competition aims to challenge bright Filipino students of Basic and Applied Sciences to actively participate in solving prevalent socio-economic problems in the society.

“Innovation is key in building a sustainable, financially inclusive and better Philippines,” said BPI Foundation Executive Director Owen Cammayo. “Through the BPI-DOST Innovation Awards, we aim to recognize and reinforce the role of innovation in nation-building by encouraging our young and promising innovators to develop sustainable products and technologies that will address specific problems in the community.”

The BPI-DOST Innovation Awards is open to all regular Filipino junior and senior (3rd to 5th year) college students of Basic and Applied sciences. Each school shall be represented by one team composed of three students. The team shall showcase an innovative project that addresses problems in such areas as agriculture, disaster management, education, entrepreneurship, environment, food safety, health, security, transportation, and traffic management, among others.

Ten teams will receive Php25,000 each and shall undergo a one to two-day online workshop. After the workshops, the teams are given 90 days to build and implement their projects. Out of the Top 10, three teams with the most outstanding projects will win the BPI-DOST Innovation Award and a cash prize of Php100,000 each.

Interested students may still apply directly to the schools listed below. Successful applicants will be contacted through the schools by the end of April by BPI Foundation.

List of DOST-SEI Consortium College/Universities:

  1. Ateneo de Manila University  
  2. Batangas State University  
  3. Bicol University  
  4. Central Luzon State University  
  5. Central Mindanao University  
  6. Cebu Normal University  
  7. De La Salle University   
  8. Leyte Normal University   
  9. Mapua University   
  10. Mariano Marcos State University  
  11. Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology  
  12. Mindanao State University-Marawi City   
  13. Nueva Vizcaya State University  
  14. Philippine Normal University  
  15. Philippine Women’s University 
  16. St. Louis University  
  17. St. Luke’s College of Medicine  
  18. St. Mary’s University  
  19. University of San Carlos   
  20. University of Santo Tomas  
  21. University of Science and Technology of Southern Philippines Cagayan de Oro City 
  22. University of Southeastern Philippines  
  23. University of the Philippines – Baguio  
  24. University of the Philippines – Diliman  
  25. University of the Philippines – Los Baños  
  26. University of the Philippines – Manila  
  27. University of the Philippines – Open University  
  28. University of the Philippines – Visayas  
  29. Visayas State University  
  30. West Visayas State University   
  31. Western Mindanao State University

For more information, visit

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :