UK bans visitors from the Philippines to prevent new variants


MANILA – Visitors from the Philippines cannot enter the United Kingdom starting April 9 after the country was included on the “red list” travel ban, British Ambassador to Manila Daniel Pruce announced online Friday.

New restrictions will come into effect by 4 a.m. (UK time) next Friday and will cover visitors who have been in or have transited through the Philippines during the last 10 days.

“This means you cannot enter the UK from the Philippines unless you are a British or Irish national, or if you are a third-country national, including Filipino, who has residence rights in the UK,” Pruce said.

Those allowed to enter would be required to undergo hotel quarantine upon arrival.

The Embassy, meanwhile, is still awaiting confirmation from the devolved administrations of Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland if they will adopt the same measure.

Pruce said the travel ban is meant to protect its public health and reduce the risk of new variants entering the UK.

As of posting time, there are over 30 countries on the said list, with the Philippines, Pakistan, Kenya, and Bangladesh as new inclusions.

“All of these decisions have been taken after careful assessment. These are temporary measures that will be kept under review and will only be maintained in place while the level of risk justifies them,” Pruce said.

Those who may be affected are encouraged to visit (PNA)