10 outstanding Subic Freeport workers named

SUBIC BAY FREEPORT — Twelve employees from various companies here made it to the list of 10 Outstanding Freeport Workers for 2018.

Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority (SBMA) Chairman and Administrator Wilma T. Eisma, along with other SBMA officials, presented the awards during a recognition ceremony on Nov. 23 at the Subic Bay Exhibition and Convention Center here.

“It never fails to amaze me how we have gone such a long way,” Eisma said in her message, referring to the 26 years that the Subic Freeport existed and recalling the services of the more than 8,000 volunteers who helped establish Subic during its infancy.

“We are honoring 12 outstanding Freeport workers today and it only shows that excellence and malasakit continue to live with us here,” Eisma added.

The SBMA chief also thanked the awardees, as well as all stakeholders in the Subic Freeport “who had given that dedication to Subic to move us forward, so that investors continue to come by providing them a safe and clean place for their business.”

Lawyer Severo Pastor Jr., who heads the SBMA Labor Department and also serves as president of the Subic Bay Workers Development Foundation (SBWDF), which organizes the annual event, said the awards started out 17 years ago with “an urgent need to celebrate and recognize those who have excelled in their companies while continuing to thrive in their service to the community.”

Pastor explained that out of the more than 300 nominees this year, the board of judges selected 10 candidates whose score ranged between 90% and 98%. However, four candidates garnered the same scores in two spots so that 12 winners emerged, he added.

This year’s outstanding workers are: Maximo Bello, Jr. of FBM Systems and Electronics, Inc., Maria Lorena Aguania (Nicera Phils.), Gary Manglicmot (Pacific Ocean Underwater Solution, Corp.), Roberto Duran, Jr. (Phil. Coastal Storage and Pipelines Corp.), Marilyn Mae Martinez (PayAsia PA Support Subic Ltd.), Jefrene Sarmiento (PTT Phils. Trading Corp.); Simeon Carlos, Jr. (Nicera Phils. Inc.), Arnel Faminialan (Phil. Coastal Storage and Pipelines Corp.), Menandro Magcale (SBMA Media Production Department), Alfredo Cerezo (Subic Enerzone Corp.), Dominica Cureg (Subic Water and Sewerage Corp.), and Ruffy Gonzalez (Wistron Infocomm Phils. Corp.).

For her part, Olongapo City Police Office Superintendent Avelina De Guzman, who headed the board of judges, reminded the awardees that while they may experience disappointments in work, these should only help them grow.

“Brace yourselves for the many challenges ahead, and remember to learn from them,” she said. “Continue to work towards your dream, be proud of your accomplishments and be especially proud that you were awarded as top workers of the year.”

Meanwhile, two other activities organized for the benefit of local residents were simultaneously held at the Harbor Point mall here to coincide with the 26th SBMA anniversary celebration on Nov. 23-24: a mobile passport processing and a job fair.

Thousands of jobseekers lined up for the job fair that offered some 4,500 openings in various locator-businesses in the Subic Bay Freeport.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com