12 Kapampangans conferred MOKA 2019

CLARK FREEPORT — Twelve Kapampangans were conferred the Most Outstanding Kapampangan Awards 2019 (MOKA) in rites held at Royce Hotel and Casino here on Wednesday.

The MOKA awarding night was the main event of the celebration of the 448th founding anniversary of Pampanga dubbed as “Aldo ning Kapampangan.”

Governor Dennis ‘Delta’ Pineda said, “Your personal excellence in your respective fields tells a lot about the community that we have: a community of talented, well-driven, and honourable individuals.”

For her part, Vice Governor Lilia ‘Nanay’ Pineda, MOKA committee chairperson, said the annual MOKA is valuable to the provincial government because it recognizes Kapampangans who excel in their respective fields of endeavour and contribute to the welfare of the Kapampangan race.

Vice Governor Pineda, in her message read by Board Member Anthony Joseph Torres, said: “Ing dangalan pu, e yamu karela; nune dangalan niya naman ning kekatamung probinsya at anti mu rin dangalan ne ning balen Kapampangan.” 

Governor Delta led the conferment of the “Ing Tala ning Kabiasnan at Kayapan ning Kapampangan” trophy to the 2019 MOKA awardees.

The MOKA recipients for this year were Health Undersecretary Dr. Rolando Enrique Domingo for Government Service; PMaj Ohmar Bognot, Law Enforcement; Kayla Noelle Sanchez, Sports; Elvira Machuca, Business & Technology; Leilani Samson-Cunanan, Education; and Allen Dizon, Arts.

Also conferred the prestigious award were Ivan Mayrina for Mass Media; Rodico De Dios, Culture; Dr. Sevillo David, Jr., Science & Technology; Irene Manliclic-Adion, Agriculture; Maria Glorian Tomen, Social Service; and Jericho Arceo, Youth Service.

Most Rev. Paciano Aniceto, archbishop emeritus of the Archdiocese of San Fernando, also graced the event as the guest of honor. He was a former MOKA awardee in Religious category in 1985.

The selection and evaluation of this year’s MOKA awardees were conducted a month before the ceremony at the Aquino Hall, Capitol Compound here.

MOKA Alumni Cecile Yumul (1993, Education), Alejandro Alviz (2002, Arts and Culture), Leonardo Canlas (2012, Education), PSupt. Narvin Mangune (2018, Law Enforcement), and Michael Raymon Pangilinan (2010, Culture) served as the judges who chose the roster of this year’s most outstanding Kapampangans.

The MOKA has been the major highlight of the Aldo ning Kapampangan since its inception in 1978 under the initiative of then Governor Juanita Nepomuceno. It is perceived as the pinnacle of all awards conferred by the Province of Pampanga to its outstanding sons and daughters.

Today, more than 400 outstanding Kapampangans from different fields have been chosen and given with the award.