17 schools agree to serve as vaccination sites


MANILA – Commission on Higher Education (CHED) Chairperson J. Prospero de Vera on Wednesday said 17 colleges and universities agreed to have their facilities used as vaccination centers in support of the government’s efforts to expand its immunization drive against Covid-19.

In a radio interview, de Vera said 20 other higher education institutions “expressed willingness to allow their facilities to be used for inoculation activities.

“Mas maganda na mas marami ‘yung vaccination facilities natin. Target natin within the month of April ay maaayos ‘yung usapan nila kasi darating yung mga bakuna sa Mayo (It would be best to have more vaccination facilities. Our target is to finalize the discussions within the month of April because more vaccines will arrive in May),” he said.

The HEIs which offered their facilities as vaccination centers include:
– Our Lady of Fatima University (OLFU) – Valenzuela
– Manila Central University
– University of Perpetual Help System Dalta – Las Piñas Campus
– De La Salle University – Dasmariñas
– St. Louis University
– Central Philippine University
– West Visayas State University
– OLFU- San Fernando, Pampanga
– University of Baguio
– Benguet State University
– University of Cebu
– University of Perpetual Help – Dr. Jose G. Tamayo Medical University
– OLFU-Quezon City
– De La Salle Medical and Health Sciences Institute
– Notre Dame Kidapawan College
– North Valley College Foundation
– Cotabato Medical Foundation

De Vera noted these HEIs have spacious gymnasiums and necessary health personnel who can assist in the vaccination drive if necessary.

He added that there would be negotiations between the HEIs and their respective local government units concerning specific arrangements, but a draft agreement has been distributed already. (PNA)