Boking urges Duterte, PNP to revive ‘Tokhang’

MABALACAT CITY – Mayor Marino “Boking” Morales has urged President Rodrigo Duterte and the Philippine National Police to revive ‘Oplan Tokhang’ to contain the possible resurgence of illegal drugs in the city.

Morales said has also urged local govt units (LGUs), League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP), City League of the Philippines (CLP), and the Governors League of the Philippine to come up with a resolution asking Duterte to restore ‘Oplan Tokhang’ under the PNP.

“Kailangan po ituloy ni Pangulong Duterte ang laban sa droga,” Morales said.
This after Mabalacat Police Chief Superintedent Juritz Rara noted the “drug situation in this city is still manageable but most of drug personalities were again back in their previous activities.”

‘Oplan Tokhang’ or the drive against illegal drugs and users had been stopped after the abduction and slaying of Angeles City-based Korean businessman Joo Ick-Jee.

“As the cop of Mabalacat CPS, I will always follow the directives set by the PNP and orders given by our Commander in chief. Oplan tokhang is one of the best if not the best program implemented by the PNP but it was abused by few policemen,” according to Rara.

“As of now we are trying our best to help PDEA in their campaign against illegal drugs by giving information to them and making demand reduction efforts such as awareness seminars and lectures,” Rara said.

“The drug situation in this city is still manageable but most of drug personalities were again back in their previous activities. The crimes are once again in the upward trend as I believe that crimes and illegal drug problem are directly related with each other.”

18 out of 27 barangays drug-free
Last January 2017, the PNP has declared 18 barangays in Mabalacat City as drug-free.

“From all indications, Mabalacat is winning the war against illegal drugs,” Morales said.

The Mabalacat PNP noted that 18 out of 27 barangays in Mabalacat City are now drug-free based on the parameters set by the Philippine National Police.

The 18 barangays as Bical, Poblacion, San Joaquin, San Francisco, Mamatitang, Tabun, Dolores, Sto. Rosario, Sta. Maria, Mangalit, Paralayunan, Bundagul, Sapang Balen, Mawaque Resettlement, Sta. Ines, Macapagal Village, Calumpang and Cacutud.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :