CSF gears for 17th Cityhood anniversary

CITY OF SAN FERNANDO – The local government here have lined-up major activities for the upcoming 17th Cityhood Charter anniversary in cooperation with private business groups, academe and the youth, city officials announced Monday.

This years’ celebration is anchored on a theme “Pagmasusian Ing Kaganapang Akamtan, Ing Syudad Lakwas Tayang Patatagan.”

San Fernando became a charter city by virtue of republic act 8990 on February 4, 2001. Mayor Dr. Rey Aquino was the first charter city chief executive.

Since its cityhood, the local government is staging two week-long events to celebrate its achievement and other major accomplishments, said Mayor Edwin Santiago.

Highlights in this years’ cityhood anniversary celebration includes Teacher’s Heroism Day set on Jan 30 (Tuesday) to be held at the Bulwagan ng Alkalde (City Hall) and Pre-Marriage Counselling at Walter Mart here.

Medical mission specifically for eye illness and diabetes at Bulaon covered court; Citywide Clean-up and Bloodletting; thanksgiving mass and Barangay Pulung Bulu 15th founding anniversary to be held on Feb 1 and 2 respectively.

Kaganapan Arts and Crafts Fair, Padyak para sa Kalusugan at Kalikasan, Pet mo Show mo, Youth Parade, National Young Birds Show, Outstanding Public Service Award (Rotary Club) scheduled on Feb 2 to Feb 5 in separate venues.

Turn-over of River Walk pathway coupled with medical and dental mission for Persons with Disability (PWDs) and Senior Citizens at the Bgy. Sindalan covered court.

Activities for Feb 6-13 includes launching of Palarong Empleyado, Fernandino Nanays Day Out, Cityhood Job Fair, Cityhood Trade Fair, Kasalan King Balen, Launching of Ten Outstanding Fernandino Award 2019, Harana sa Kababaihan, 110th Founding Anniversary of Pampanga High School and Grand Alumni Homecoming.

Unveiling of Pampanga High School National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP) marker will cap Cityhood anniversary celebration.

Kaganapan Executive Committee is headed by Mayor Edwin Santiago as Honorary Chairperson, Vice Mayor Jaime Lazarin as Vice Chairperson; Ricardo Pineda, Jr., chairperson, Engr. Emer Feliciano and Robbie Hizon, Co-chairpersons..

Members are Councilor Harvey Quiwa; Alex Magsino; Virgilio Cortez; Engr. Fernando Limbitco; Engr. Remedios Agoncillo; Engr. Michael Quizon, Jr.; Maria Gisel Rivera; Mary Ann Abutista; Dr. Imelda Macaspac; Engr. Jose Diaz; Dra. Eloisa Aquino; Donny Sayre and Ching Pangilinan.