DOTr allots P20M for ‘Tsuper Iskolars’ in CL

CITY OF SAN FERNANDO — The Department of Transportation allocated P20 million for the scholarship program of jeepney drivers’ dependents who might be economically dislocated by the government utility vehicles modernization scheme. 

Beneficiaries of the “Tsuper Iskolar” program in Region 3 will undergo skills training with Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) for 35 days or depending on the courses the scholars will take. Each student will receive P350 daily allowance.Hide quoted text
More than 25,000 passenger jeepneys are plying along major thoroughfares and other roads in Central Luzon but the number of attendees in Thursday’s (Oct 10) launching of Tsuper Iskolar was about 500 only. 

“The P20- million allocation is only for 2019 scholars throughout region 3,” said DOTr-Land Transportation Franchising Regulatory Board JE Jesus Sison, Hearing Officer and chief of Inspection who represented Sec Arthur Tugade. 
DOTr and TESDA officials led the distribution of scholarship slots to jeepney drivers beneficiaries during simple rites held at the atrium of SM Telabastagan here.

Initial courses available under the program include Heavy Equipment Operations (HEO) – Forklifts and HEO hydraulic Excavator, Hilot (Wellness Massage) NC II, Shielded Metal Arc Welding NC II, Driving NC II and Overhaul Motorcycle/Small Engine leading to Motorcycle/Small Engine Servicing NC II. 

Sison encouraged jeepney drivcers to organize a cooperative for them to qualify for the government modernization scheme. He said jeepney drivers who wish to retire will benefit from thisby giving them alternative job and livelihood opportunities.

“As a member of cooperative, a driver can still work within the group as allied worker,” Sison told reporters on the sideline of Tsuper iskolars launching. He said that a jeepney driver who failed to join a cooperative will surely be displaced economically.

Sison warned that LTFRB will not accept franchise application for jeepney owner.   
Present during the occasion are Board Member Rosve Henson, who represented Governor Dennnis Pineda and different TESDA provincial directors in the region. 

About 11,302 slots have been distributed under the program nationwide since January 2019. There are 1,993 beneficiaries currently enrolled while 597 have already graduated in various courses.