DSWD leads ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community Pillar Launch in Angeles City

As part of the Philippine hosting of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) 2017, the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) led the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community (ASCC) Pillar Launch at the MarQuee Mall in Angeles City on Jan. 24.

“The ASCC primarily aims to foster greater solidarity and unity among peoples and Member States of ASEAN. It seeks to forge a common identity and build a caring and sharing society which is inclusive and where the well-being, livelihood, and welfare of the people are enhanced,” DSWD Secretary Judy Taguiwalo said.

Themed “Partnering for change, engaging the world”, said pillar focused on major interventions that will make a more people-oriented and people-centered institution.

“We want to make the ASEAN an institution that is more responsive to the needs of vulnerable sectors, such as senior citizens, children and youth, disadvantaged women and persons with disabilities,” Taguiwalo explained.

Among the strategies anchored on this theme include promotion and protection of the rights of migrant workers and vulnerable sectors; appreciation of cultural heritage and strengthening of the ASEAN cultural identity; intensifying access to healthcare and improved nutrition; and promotion of the role of civil service as catalyst for achieving ASEAN Vision 2025.

In addition, DSWD will also hold a series of meeting with other ASEAN Member States to discuss issues and exchange best practices that will help us craft new policies, programs and services to improve existing ones.

“We will do our best to ensure that the results of the ASEAN 2017 conference will result to tangible benefits for the Filipino people, particularly the poor and working sectors,” the secretary concluded.

The ASCC Pillar is one of the three Community Councils within ASEAN which is focused on nurturing the human, cultural and natural resources for sustained development in a harmonious and people-oriented ASEAN.

Aside from DSWD, it is composed of National Council on Disability Affairs (NCDA), National Youth Commission (NYC), Council for the Welfare of Children (CWC), Department of Health (DOH), National Nutrition Council (NNC), National Anti-Poverty Commission (NAPC), Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), Department of Education (DepEd), Philippine Commission on Women (PCW), Philippine Sports Commission (PSC), Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA), Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE), Philippine Overseas Employment Administration (POEA), ASEAN Center for Biodiversity (ACB), National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC), Civil Service Commission (CSC), Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP), National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), Commission on Higher Education (CHED), and Presidential Communications Operations Office (PCOO) and attached agencies.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com