Hermosa LGU receives SGLG 2018 award

MANILA – The Municipal Government of Hermosa, Bataan led by Municipal Mayor Antonio Joseph “Jopet” R. Inton on Wednesday received the Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) 2018 award from the Department of Interior and Local Government in formal ceremonies held at the Tent City, Manila Hotel.

The award, also known as “Pagkilala sa Katapatan at Kahusayan ng Pamahalaang Lokal”, aims to continuously influence good governance in local government units (LGUs) across the country.

The said SGLG award was the second for Hermosa LGU under the strict but productive and progressive leadership of Mayor Jopet Inton.

The event was graced by Bataan 2nd District Representative Jose Enrique “Joet” Garcia III and Senator Sonny Angara. Mayor Inton was joined by his department heads and fellow awardees from other towns and cities.

The LGUs were adjudged based on upgraded core areas such as financial administration, disaster preparedness, social protection and peace and order program implementation.

During the past years, the LGUs are only required to pass the four core areas and at least one essential area.

This year, the criteria are elevated to involve all essential areas such as environmental management, business friendliness and competitiveness and their promotion for tourism, culture and the arts.

A total of 43 local government units in Central Luzon passed the 2018 Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG).

DILG Regional Director Julie J. Daquioag disclosed in a published report that the Provincial Government awardees include Bataan headed by Governor Albert S. Garcia, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija and Tarlac.

City Government awardees, on the other hand, consists of the City of Balanga, San Fernando, Mabalacat, San Jose and Munoz.

Also included in the list of Municipal Government awardees are Baler and Maria Aurora in Aurora; Bagac, Hermosa, Morong, Orani, Pilar and Samal in Bataan; Baliwag, Guiguinto and Plaridel in Bulacan; and Cabiao, Llanera, Penaranda, Rizal, San Leonardo, Santa Rosa, and Talavera in Nueva Ecija; Bacolor, Floridablanca, Lubao, Macabebe, Mexico, San Simon, Santa Ana and Sto Tomas in Pampanga; Capas, Gerona, Moncada, Paniqui, Pura, and Victoria in Tarlac; and San Antonio and San Felipe in Zambales.

The SGLG accentuates the vital role of local governments in helping execute national government thrusts and commitments through continuing governance reform and sustained local development.

It is a progressive assessment system of the DILG to grant distinction to notable local government performance.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com