PBA Press Corps to honor 12 ball teams


MANILA – The PBA Press Corps will be handing out a major award to all the league’s 12 member teams for its upcoming awards night on Sunday.

The group of sportswriters covering the PBA beat announced on Wednesday that the clubs are the recipients of this year’s President’s Award for helping the league’s bubble season come to life.

“The all-out support of the 12 ballclubs eventually led to the successful staging of the Philippine Cup bubble in Clark, Pampanga that aborted disaster with the possible cancellation of the league’s 45th season,” the PBA Press Corps said.

Thanks to “their financial sacrifices and deep love for the game,” fans are treated to daily live basketball action for entertainment amid the coronavirus disease 2019 pandemic, which stalled most sports including basketball.

Top officials from each of the 12 teams are expected to receive the award in the first virtual edition of the PBA Press Corps Awards Night on Sunday.

They will join Bulakan, Bulacan Mayor Vergel Meneses, the supposed recipient of the President’s Award last year, in accepting the award.

Meneses, the PBA Most Valuable Player in 1995, was supposed to receive the award in person last year, but the PBA Press Corps Awards Night was canceled due to the pandemic.Mainly to be done through video conferencing, the physical aspect of the event will take place at the TV5 Media Center in Mandaluyong City. (PNA)