SC votes 11-3-1 to affirm Martial Law in Mindanao

Voting 11-3-1, the Supreme Court has affirmed Proclamation 2016 or President Rodrigo Duterte’s Martial Law proclamation in Mindanao
This was gleaned during Tuesday’s en banc (full court) session, where the petitions filed by House of Representatives’ minority bloc, residents of Mindanao and women from Marawi were dismissed.

Eleven Justices affirmed the martial law proclamation in Mindanao. Three others –Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno, Senior Associate Justice Antonio Carpio and Associate Justice Alfredo Benjamin Caguioa – want martial law confined in Marawi. The lone dissenter was Associate Justice Marvic Leonen.

Duterte placed the entire Mindanao under martial law on May 23, following the attack of the Islamic State-inspired Maute group.