Tarlac celebrates 144th founding anniversary

TARLAC CITY – The province of Tarlac is celebrating its 144th founding​ ​anniversary this week​, with several activities lined up from May 22 to​ ​28.

The culmination is on May 28, which is the foundation day itself.

This year’s celebration with a permanent theme “Ganda at​ ​Galing…Natural Tarlac” will be the first under the leadership of Gov.​ ​Susan Yap.

Yap is also set to lead the activities for the first KanLAHI​ ​Festival [Kanlungan ng Lahi] that will pay tribute to the different​ ​cultures and people that populate the province.

“It is about time to pay tribute to the different culture and​ ​people of our province. Through this KanLAHI festival, they will be​ ​properly recognized,” Yap said

On May 28, 1873, the province of Tarlac was formed from the​ ​municipalities of Zambales, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga and Pangasinan.

Tarlac first celebrated its founding anniversary in 1999​ ​when the then late Governor Jose “Aping” Yap tapped historians to​ ​research on when the province was established.

“We hope that this celebration will inspire our fellow​ ​Tarlaqueños to promote our tourism industry and be proud of their​ ​heritage,” Yap said.

Activities lined-up for the celebration on May 22 are a holy​ ​mass, motorcade, food festival, organic white rice launching, colored​ ​chalk competition and battle of the bands; Bloodletting, medical and​ ​dental mission, dog show and Tarlaqueño got talent on May 23; Jobs fair, first Gov. Susan Yap inter-town basketball cup, pageant night of​ ​the Mutya ng Lalawigang Tarlac and a fireworks display on May 24; Car​ ​drifting show, Tarlac national painting contest and sayaw-hataw dance​ ​contest on May 25; Palaro ng lahi, legal aid, street dancing​ ​competition, variety show with the starts, and a fireworks display on​ ​May 26; Color fun run, motor show and car display, a grand parade of​ ​float, saya keng dalan street party, Miss Earth Fashion show and a​ ​fireworks display on May 27 and on the foundation day itself, the​ ​provincial government will commemorate the National flag day and​ ​awarding ceremonies, the first Gov. Susan Yap motocross and Mister​ ​Tarlac.

This year’s celebration be featured on the daily morning shows​ ​Umagang Kay Ganda [ABS-CBN]. A one page supplement will also be​ ​printed on the daily broadsheet Philippine Daily Inquirer.

There are 16 local beauties representing the lone city and 13​ ​municipalities that will vie for the prestigious title Mutya ng​ ​Lalawigang Tarlac. They are Princess Nicolas of Camiling, Naoimi Jose​ ​Merl Llano of Mayantoc, Jessa May Tiamzon of Paniqui, Jan Lian Claire
Domingo of Tarlac city, Marriane Nicole Lenon, Angelica Pacunayem,​ ​Patricia Getty Capiral of Capas, Jaynee Adelinef Manguerra of Anao,​ ​Marianette Gatchalian of Ramos, Diana Rose Valdez of Pura, Jezreel​ ​Kaye Capiral of Concepcion, Debora Chantengco of Sta. Ignacia, Ruth​ ​Natalie Caledas of Victoria, Nicole Ronquillo also of Capas, Krizzia​ ​Mae Lazo of San Jose and Sandrianne Esquiola likewise of Concepcion.

Famous movie and television celebrities will grace the much​ ​awaited variety show and the first Mister Tarlac will be crowned.