Angeles City wins ATOP Pearl Award anew

It’s a back-to-back victory for this highly urbanized city as it once again bagged the Grand Prize in the recently concluded 11th Association of Tourism Officers of the Philippines – Department of Tourism (ATOP-DOT) Pearl Awards, held at the Royce Hotel and Casino in Clark Freeport Zone.

Under the Best Practices in Community-based Responsible Tourism-Heritage Conservation Category, Angeles won with the entry, “Safeguarding Angeles City Heritage: Success Stories and Beyond”, which highlights the city’s efforts in protecting, promoting and sustaining its heritage legacy.

“We are deeply overwhelmed with this accolade from the Association of Tourism Officers of the Philippines-Department of Tourism. This goes to show that we are on the right track in protecting and promoting our heritage, our cultural identity, our treasures,” said Angeles City tourism officer, Dr. Richard Daenos.

In 2015, Angeles City won the award for the first time with its entry, “Revitalizing Heritage in Angeles City” besting Silay City and Compostela Valley, during the 10th ATOP-DOT National Convention held in Davao City.

This year, the competition is a neck-and-neck showcase between Angeles City and Silay City.

The ATOP-DOT Pearl Award is a competition open to all local government units (LGUs) with nine major award categories on the best tourism offices/clubs/associations, best practices in community-based responsible tourism (enterprise, heritage, and campaign), and best tourism events (sports/wellness/adventure, celebrations and festival).

The awards night is the culmination of the three-day national convention hosted by the Province of Pampanga. It aims to recognize the best tourism practices of different local government units across the archipelago.

Acting City Mayor Bryan Matthew Nepomuceno, together with ACTO Head Dr. Richard Daenos accepted the award in behalf of the city government.

Also present during the awarding ceremonies are Pampanga Governor Lilia Pineda, 2nd District Rep. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, DOT Regional Director Ronnie Tiotuico, City’s First Lady Herminia Pamintuan, and NCCA-National Committee on Dance Vice Head Peter de Vera.