Sports Tourism awardees named in 5th PSTA

Outstanding contributors to the fast-growing sports tourism industry were recognized at the 5th Philippine Sports Tourism Awards at Quest Plus Conference Center in Clark on December 6 for their efforts in sustaining local and international events despite the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020 and 2021.

The Philippine Sports Tourism Awards are awarded to the government and business enterprises that enhance the economic growth of local communities through synergizing tourism and sports.

Organizations and individuals in the private and public sectors were recently awarded in 5 different categories for their indispensable efforts in keeping sports tourism alive. The five categories are the Sports Tourism Hotel of the Year, Sports Tourism Tournament of the Year, National Sports Association of the Year, Airline of the Year, and Sports Tourism Destination of the Year.

The Sports Tourism Hotel of the Year was awarded to Quest Plus Hotel Clark for delivering top class hospitality services to hundreds of basketball game officials, players, and trainers during the PBA and FIBA Asian Cup Qualifiers Bubbles during the pandemic.

In parallel with Hotel of the Year, the Sports Tourism Tournament of the Year goes to the 2020 Philippine Cup during the 45th Season of the PBA Presidents Cup. The year of 2020 brought new challenges due to the COVID-19 pandemic but despite this obstacle, the PBA were still able to stay committed in organizing thrilling and entertaining basketball through the now iconic “PBA Bubble.”

For the National Sports Association of the Year, the award goes to Samahang Basketbol Ng Pilipinas (SBP) for pursuing every means and efforts to hold domestic and international tournaments to uplift the spirit of Basketball fans through bubble management which allowed events such as the FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers where teams from South Korea, Thailand, and Indonesia competed with the Philippines in Clark last 2021.

The Airline of the Year was awarded to Cebu Pacific for providing to all Filipino Olympians and Paralympians free roundtrip flights at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. CEB gifted every 19 Philippine Olympians and 6 Paralympians with free flights. Coinciding with Cebu Pacific’s 25th anniversary celebration, the airline went above and beyond by providing all 25 Philippine athletes with 26 free flights to celebrate the airline’s 25 years of allowing every Juan to fly.

Lastly, the Sports Tourism Destination of the Year, the award went to none other than the Clark Development Corporation for staying true to its mission of transforming Clark into a premiere tourism destination. Clark has been the epicenter for multiple sporting events from triathlon to motor racing, the CDC has been an important catalyst in allowing Clark to become the must-experience destination for sports tourism.

Although a scaled-down event, the awardees of the 5th Philippine Sports Tourism Awards are given this prestigious honor for being key players in the Sports Tourism Industry in 2021.

 “We will not let this opportunity past in not honoring the men and women, players and officials who have made sacrifices to keep sports tourism alive during the pandemic,” remarked Charles Lim, founder and chairman of the PSTA. “Without any doubt, there are many more we would like to recognize but 2020 and 2021 were challenging times.”

The 6th Philippine Sports Tourism Awards will be open for nominations from January 2 to March 31, 2023 in 14 different categories.

For nominations, please visit the Official Philippine Sports Tourism Awards Facebook Page and locate the QR Code at the banner for you to scan and download the official nomination forms.

For further inquiries or concerns, you may reach out to Franz Fua at [email protected]